The Last Weekend Hurrah!

So this weekend will be my last time visiting somewhere outside of the Athens. My homesickness is mixing with my guilt of not wanting to be here anymore so I think this will be a refreshing little vacation to Meteora. 5 of us are going for just one night and then we’ll be back on Saturday to get some work done before finals next week. I think the amount of work I have to do before I leave here is just making me want to leave even more so I don’t have to do any of it. I forget sometimes that I’m not here just for fun, I’m also getting grades while I’m here. Mostly useless grades for my major/minor, but grades nonetheless.

I have to say that what is bumming me out the most is not getting to see my friends graduate back home. I’ve been taking classes for 4 solid years with them and now I don’t get to see them walk and receive their hard earned diplomas. It’s crazy to think that I won’t ever have another class with some of them. I don’t get to sit in the back row with Tyler and make fun of our teachers. I don’t get to have another potluck with Kelsie and Phil in our apartments. Luckily not ALL of my friends are graduating. Some are like me and taking 5 years to finish our degrees. I still get to hang out with Matt, Ben, Joe, and others. I also have a bunch of friends that are Juniors this year such as Lance and Madicken. I miss everyone that I have just mentioned SO MUCH as well as the rest of you. I can’t wait to come home and dish out all of the presents that I had to buy a whole separate duffel bag for to bring home. I’m going to look like a fool carrying two duffel bags onto the bus/metro at 2 am along with my backpack and purse. Yes, picture that for a second. Stupid tourist.

It really does feel like things are winding down here. I spend more time in my apartment, not having the energy to go out at nights and party it up like in the beginning. We have no more school trips planned, just class after class. I looked today in my Greek book in class and realized we were on the third to last page. How did through it so quickly? I feel like I should be using Greek more than I do in everyday life. I know SO MUCH more Greek then I actually give myself credit for. The problem is getting myself to say it and make it feel as natural as it feels writing it. The ironic part is that when I get home I’ll know the most Greek. I wish we had done as much Greek in the first two weeks of being here as the last two weeks.

This Sunday I have a date with the morning cook at Vyrinis to get her recipe for the coconut chocolate cake I promised! Mama Vyrinis will be there to translate for me because apparently the cook doesn’t know English. Once my book that I’m making for my Creating Impressions class finally comes together I’ll feel much better. Oh yeah, and those two 5 page papers I need to write…. I should get on that.

Off to go be productive! Love you all!

Leave a comment