The Heat! The Heat!

So It’s 95 degrees outside right now and I’m afraid to leave this small air conditioned classroom. Don’t worry though, there’s another 5 degrees to go today as the high is 100! Don’t be fooled by the sun going down, the low for tonight is a warm 75.

75! That’s not even the high back home! All of you appreciate not having your clothes stick to you when you walk outside. Get me out of here! I want to go home now!

Both of my big final papers have been written and turned in today. Now all I have to do is a Greek written and oral final along with a small theater performance and a presentation of my creating impressions book that I made. Friday night after the book presentation is our farewell dinner and then I get to do my last minute shopping and packing on Saturday. My flight is at 6:30 am on Sunday morning so I’m thinking of taking the metro to the airport late Saturday night to avoid the 60 euro night cab ride. I’m going to look like an idiot with two duffel bags on the trolley and the metro but it’s worth paying 1/10th the price.

I didn’t buy a metro ticket last Sunday when I was out with Dana on our way to Gazi for lunch since she already had hers and I haven’t been checked in the last 3 months I’ve been here. Of course my last week in Athens would be when I get ticketed on the metro. Or any public transportation for that matter. I got a 30 euro fine for not having a 0.50 euro ticket and even though I showed him my other 10 tickets from other times he refused to let me off with a warning of any kind. I took the ticket to Rosemary at the Athens Center and she said that it had to be paid in 20 days so it would be alright if I just went home and didn’t pay it. Yay! I get to be a fugitive! I’m really not worried about it though because they only have my name and birthday on the ticket. I didn’t show them my passport or even my Oregon ID, they just looked at my student card which has nothing of real value on it.

Live and learn. Boy have I been doing a lot of that the past three months. I am SO EXCITED to come back home and see everyone! Love you and miss you all!

2 Responses to “The Heat! The Heat!”

  1. Dad Says:

    Read this on the BBerry walking to get the paper at 6:00 AM in what I sleep in and laughed loud enough to wake the Neighbourhood!

    It was about 40. You will be cool soon:-)

  2. Aunt Carol Says:

    have a safe trip home Katherine – love reading your blog!

Leave a comment